Taylor Robert Wins Glen Helen WORCS

San Bernardino, CA – Taylor Robert claims his four straight win at Glen Helen in as many years at round eight of 2014 Rocky Mountain MC World Off-Road Championship Series presented by Motoworks and Dirt Bike Magazine.  RPM / KTM’s Travis Coy wraps up the Pro 2 Championship, and Maxxis’ Michael Del Fante clinches the Pro 2 Lites Championship.

It was a scorcher at Glen Helen with a high of an incredible 111 degrees, which took its toll of the racers and motorcycles, and with the unbearable heat also came the relentless dust that kept the water truck running none stop throughout the race battling the dust, which was kept to a minimum considering the conditions.

Despite the brutal racing conditions, KTM’s Taylor Robert was up to the challenge once again as he got off to a great start in the second spot behind RPM / KTM’s Justin Jones, but Robert made the pass on Jones in lap two as he recorded the fastest time of the race and began building on his lead over second place.  Unfortunately for Jones, he snapped a chain, which took him out of the running for a podium finish.

Robert held the lead to the finish to secure his fourth straight win at Glen Helen, and he has won every WORCS race he has attended now for the two straight years, but this will be his last WORCS race for the season as he won’t be attending the season finale in Primm.

Reigning WORCS champion, Robby Bell, gained some valuable points with his second place finish at Glen Helen.  Bell charged his way past Jones in the fourth lap to take over the second spot, but he wasn’t able to challenge Robert for the win, and settled into the second spot for his sixth podium finish of the 2014 WORCS season.

NTS’ Gary Sutherlin overcame several obstacles this weekend to score a spot on the podium as he chases after the 2014 WORCS Pro championship.  Nearly a month ago, Sutherlin broke his Collarbone, which he had plated, and if that wasn’t enough, he came down with a cold before the race this weekend.  To top it off, shortly into the race, he collided with Tim Weigand, which sent him to the back of the pack, but he wasn’t about to give up as he put his head down and quickly charged his way into the top five by the end of the first lap. Sutherlin continued his charge in the excessive heat to secure the third spot at the checkered flag, which is exactly where he needed to finish to continue his run for the championship.

For the second time this year the 2013 BAJA 1000 Champion, Colton Udall, finished out the day in the fourth spot.

Precision Concept’s Justin Seeds held on to round out the top five, which has him fourth in the championship point’s race.

In the Pro 2 class, Husqvarna’s Justin Morgan claimed his first win of the season as he ran away from the competition after taking over the lead in the second lap, which moved Morgan into a tie for the second spot in the championship points

RPM / KTM’s Travis Coy clinched the Pro 2 Championship with a second place for his seventh straight podium finish to wrap up the championship with one round remaining.

David Broderick rounded out the top three, and he has finished on the podium at every event he raced this season with a five podium finishes.

In the Pro 2 Lites class, Focus’ Blayne Thompson secured his third win of the season as took over the lead in lap one and held it to the checkered flag for the win.

Michael Del Fante raced smart and finished in the second spot, which was more than enough to wrap-up the Pro 2 Lites Championship.

Noah Kepple rounded out the Pro 2 Lites podium in the third spot.

The 2014 Rocky Mountain MC World Off-Road Championship Series Presented by Motoworks and Dirt Bike heads to Buffalo Bill’s Casino and Resort for the season finale on October 17-19th in Primm, Nevada with the WORCS Pro Championship coming down to the final round of the season with Gary Sutherlin leading the charge.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.