2010 WORCS Mesquite Results

Courtesy of MotoUSA.com – Matt Davidson – October 25, 2010

KTM’s Kurt Caselli snagged his second WORCS Championship after taking the final victory at Mesquite MX Park over the weekend. He headed into the final round with three wins and a six-point advantage over Kawasaki’s Ricky Dietrich, and all he needed to clench the 2010 title was a podium finish.

At the start Caselli had an excellent launch, taking the holeshot ahead of his teammate, Mike Brown. Shortly afterward Brown crept into the lead, but the two teammates remained close together and traded spots for the lead a few times before Caselli started dropping off the pace.

“I began to suffer from arm pump early in the race and struggled to hang on,” said Caselli. “I dropped back to fifth place on the fourth lap and did my best to maintain my position.”

Forty-five minutes into the contest Caselli went into the pits in order to give his arms a break. Upon his return he was much stronger and he quickly picked up the pace. Halfway into the race Caselli was in third and charging toward the front.

“Everyone else began to pit and I was able to get around them and pull ahead,” Caselli said.

On Lap 11 he retook the lead from Brown, and the rest was history. With a 31-second margin Caselli took a hard-earned win and added another title win to his belt.

“It feels so amazing to win this championship,” said Caselli. “I had a really rough year last season and to come back out and finish this season with a championship is the best reward. I want to thank my team and my family for standing behind me this year helping me to achieve this championship.”

After finishing second behind his teammate, Brown took third in the championship right behind Dietrich, who finished the final race of the season back in 14th.

2010 WORCS Mesquite Pro Results:
1. Kurt Caselli (KTM)
2. Mike Brown (KTM)
3. Justin Soule (Kawasaki)
4. Taylor Robert (Yamaha)
5. John Dowd (Kawasaki)
6. Nick Brozovich (Honda)
7. Bobby Garrison (Husqvarna)
8. Robby Bell (Kawasaki)
9. Colton Udall (Honda)
10. Gary Sutherlin (Kawasaki)
11. Ryan Abbatoye (Kawasaki)
12. Jonathan Davis (Kawasaki)
13. Cole Martinez (Yamaha)
14. Ricky Dietrich (Kawasaki)
15. CJ Hymas (Honda)

2010 WORCS Pro Championship Points:
1. Kurt Caselli, 226
2. Ricky Dietrich, 202
3. Mike Brown, 193
4. Justin Soule, 179
5. Colton Udall, 127
6. Bobby Garrison, 126
7. Gary Sutherlin, 117
8. Robby Bell, 97
9. Nathan Woods, 95
10. Jonathan Davis, 87

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.